top of page
The Otonabee River, Peterborough

Author and Teacher

Get to Know Me

I'm Jessica Outram, citizen of the Métis Nation of Ontario. I'm a writer and teacher. A proud Auntie of three nephews. A creative, spiritual, and energetic woman. I love writing in the early mornings and walking by the river in the evenings. 

Jessica Outram (woman smiling with cedar tree in behind her)
What I Do

I'm the author of The Thing with Feathers (poetry collection) and Bernice and the Georgian Bay Gold (children's novel). By day I work as a centrally assigned Principal of Indigenous Education for a school board in Ontario, supporting K-12 curriculum and individual Indigenous students in nearly 100 schools. I've worked as an educator for almost 25 years. In September 2023 I begin as an instructor at Trent University in the Indigenous Bachelor of Education program.

My day job is rewarding and I know there is more work for me to do outside of the school system. For over 20 years, I've actively engaged in community in theatres, choirs, galleries, and writing circles. I was the 4th Poet Laureate of Cobourg, Ontario. I've been creating in community for over 30 years. Today, I reside in Peterborough.

Fundamental Beliefs About Creativity 

  • Everything is connected in some way to lessons in the natural world.

  • Everyone is creative.

  • Every time creativity is practiced, it grows.

Communities

  • Member of the League of Canadian Poets

  • Member of the Playwrights Guild of Canada

  • Spirit of the Hills Arts Association

Education

  • Master of Arts, Adult Education and Community Development (University of Toronto)

  • Bachelor of Education (Queen's University)

  • Bachelor of Arts (Honours): English and Cultural Studies (Trent University)

  • Principal's Qualification 1 and 2 (University of Toronto)

  • Supervisory Officer's Certificate (Lakefield University)

  • Reiki, Level 2 Practitioner​

Sunshine in a Jar logo

Frequently Asked Questions

 

  • Do you offer in-person sessions or classes?

    • Check back in 2024. The sessions are on hold for now as I focus on other areas.

  • Why are appointments only available in the evenings and on weekends (EST)?

    • This is a part-time business located in Ontario. ​ 

  • Are you accepting new individual clients?

    • Contact me for a free 15-minute consultation.​

  • Do you support corporate clients?

    • Not at this time. My focus is on helping individuals.​

 

FAQ
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • Instagram
  • LinkedIn
  • Spotify
bottom of page